RSS

Saizen is in Trinoma!

26 Jul

:happy dance:

Yes, that’s right. My favorite 100-yen store is now in my favorite mall! Saizen sells all items at Php 85 (~$1.84) regardless of size. The most important thing is that Saizen sells a lot of bento and cooking equipment not found in the other 100-yen stores. I already have bought some items from Saizen before.

Here’s my loot:

Okay, this is not exactly bento equipment. This is a plate specifically for holding and serving cold soba noodles. The wooden mat serves to both absorb the excess moisture as well as lets water drip onto the plate underneath. This also comes in a pure black theme, but I got the red-and-black since most of my plateware is also red-and-black. I’m thinking of getting a second (and maybe a third) soba plate, just in case I need it.

Yes! I finally got myself a nori cutter. I haven’t tried it out yet and see how this actually performs, but I have high hopes. The interesting thing about this cutter is it actually comes in a set of eight cutters (separately bought, of course). I chose cutter number 5, the bunny cutter. I plan to get cutters 1-4 and 6 as well, and skip the last two. The last two are a ship and a car respectively, which is not useful because my daughter isn’t into vehicles at this stage. Too bad Saizen does not have any kao (face) cutters, so my bentos will go faceless for now.

Lastly, I also bought a set of sauce containers. These are basically small plastic containers with lids and comes in different colors and designs. I have so far been reluctant to take pictures of my bentos with sauces because I’ve been using ugly sauce containers. Now, I will no longer be ashamed! Freedom! :3

Here’s a picture of those three items unwrapped. There are several other items that I am planning to buy: bento boxes to add to my collection; additional picks; the other cutters as I mentioned; onigiri molds; and cookie cutters.

Since I’m already in the process of sharing pictures of my loot, let me show you two new bento boxes I bought from two other merchants.

This is a two-tier bento I bought from Japan Home (another 100-yen store). It is quite small, and it comes with its own bento band and chopsticks. I’m planning to use this little bit a lot, to help me control my portions better. My other boxes are much much larger than this one. I bought this one for Php 88 (~$1.90).

Is it hard to imagine who this bento is for? The moment I saw this bento I knew I had to get it for my little T. The only problem I have with it is that it’s HUGE. It might not fit in her lunch bag, but we’ll see. I bought this one at Clipper in Trinoma for Php 99 (~$2.14).

Disclaimer: These items are bought with my own money and all opinions are my own. I have not been paid in any way to advertise by these merchants.

Originally posted: Jul 21, ’10 5:50 AM

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 26, 2010 in Old posts

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment