RSS

Peppercrab Stew!

04 Apr

One of the recipe sites I follow is Inn at the Crossroads. Not only does it have a great recipe listing, it also discusses medieval recipes. And as a huge bonus, it’s a site dedicated to the dishes in George R.R. Martin’s  A Song of Ice and Fire series. How awesome is that??

I had been eyeing one of their recipes for some time, the Peppercrab Stew. I love spicy stuff, and I love crabs! Unfortunately, I have a fatal allergy with crabs (yes, fatal). Fortunately, the recipe allows substitution using crabsticks, which I can safely eat. Once I had gathered all the necessary ingredients, I tried out the recipe. I used up an entire 250g pack of crabstick, 3 cups of dashi stock, and a huge chopped up finger chili. I kept to the prescribed 1/4 cup dried wakame and 1 small chopped onion. I used preground black pepper to season the crabsticks. When I was in the simmering stage, I felt like I did not have enough liquid, so I put in another cup of water (I ran out of stock).

How did it turn out? Pretty awesome! I can clearly taste the finger chili, and the black pepper was infused into the crabstick strands. I did feel like there were still too much crabstick compared to the rest of the ingredients. My husband liked the dish too (and he’s not really a huge fan of soup) and suggested adding thin japanese noodles to the soup (probably soumen) which I will be trying the next time I make this.

I even tried it as baon (see photo above)  just to see how it can stand the test of reheating. It performed pretty well, and tasted as if it was freshly cooked. It went really well with rice, and I felt myself craving more of the stew. Here’s a close up of the stew.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in Random Cooking

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Peppercrab Stew!

  1. Cristine

    April 4, 2012 at 10:03 AM

    Looks yummy! Too bad you’re allergic to crab, the natural taste of it is creamier than processed crab and crab sticks. The flavor intensifies too when cooked. Sayang, but atleast crab sticks are okay for you, the taste is a bit close naman.

     
    • baonkobento

      April 6, 2012 at 11:07 AM

      True! I haven’t tasted real crab in over ten years already, but I can still imagine that it’s so much better than crabsticks.

       

Leave a Reply

 
