RSS

Week 35 of 52: Bread cups

10 Oct

This week I cooked up a batch of Chocolate Chunk cookies and as usual, I had to figure out what to do with the three yolks I had left over. Usually I would whip them up into a caesar salad dressing, but I didn’t have any salad materials on hand ready. I decided I’ll make some sort of snack from bread shaped into cups. I got this idea from Home Cooking Rocks.

Basically I cut off the crusts off four slices of loaf bread and flattened them out with a rolling pin. I spread some melted butter on both sides then very carefully arranged them into a muffin pan. I actually tore the first slice slightly, but I plowed on ahead anyway. On two of these bread cups I sprinkled some white sugar. Into the oven they went (nicely preheated from baking the cookies) and baked until I could see the sides of the cups browned. Off they went onto a plastic tray to cool.

In the meantime I heated up a pan with the leftover melted butter and a drizzle of olive oil. I sauteed half of a large white onion until limp, then added a small can worth of sliced button mushrooms. I left it to cook while I took those three leftover yolks, added another whole egg, about a fourth of a cup of fresh milk, a bit of shredded cheese, and some salt, pepper, and dried thyme and beat them all together. After the mushrooms and onions were in the pan for about five minutes, I poured in the egg mixture and scrambled them all up. I made sure to keep stirring the contents so the egg will cook evenly. It came out very yellow of course, with four yolks. Once the egg was well cooked, I scooped out some, filled the two bread cups without the sprinkled sugar, and topped it with a bit more shredded cheese.

Onto the other two cups I placed some sliced tropical fruit from Del Monte I think. I wanted to see how the bread cup idea would work with dessert type arrangement.

The mushroom-onion-egg bread cups were very tasty. It’s very filling even though it didn’t have any meat. I think this will do well as a side dish, or with enough bread cups it may even do for an entire meal. My husband liked this too. The fruit-filled bread cups were okay, but a little jolting. I guess it wasn’t really a usual arrangement since the fruit wasn’t baked into the bread. It wasn’t really bad per se, but I don’t think it will be repeated.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Week 35 of 52: Bread cups

  1. Cristine

    October 11, 2011 at 7:03 AM

    Wow, you’re on your 35th week already! Congrats. Those bread cups look cute, I like the ones with cheese. Those with fruit cocktail could taste more delicious even if you dont bake fruit cocktail together with the bread. You could heat them up with butter or juice before pouring them on the bread cup. ☺

     
    • baonkobento

      October 12, 2011 at 9:56 PM

      Thanks Cristine! I’m excited to reach the end! ^_^

      That’s a great tip for the fruit cups. It seems like a great idea except it didn’t really seem to go together. Butter or maybe cream might help. Or even ice cream! Wow there’s actually a lot of options. Thanks for the tip!

       

Leave a Reply

 
