RSS

Week 30 of 52: Tuna Cakes

08 Aug

I forgot to post this! I have uploaded the pictures and everything already a week ago, but I didn’t realize I haven’t published it yet! >_<

Last week’s dish was a simple recipe that features canned tuna. I used one can of Century Tuna Light here. I found the recipe from Hapa Bento, and I thought it was a fast and easy thing to do. The recipe needed two cans of tuna, but since I only had one, I halved the recipe. The second change I did was to use my muffin tin pan, instead of a brownie pan since I didn’t have any. The third was to omit celery since I didn’t have any. The procedure was the simplest: just mix everything together, and pour into the pan. One can turned out to be a pretty small amount, and I was able to produce only six small cakes.

That’s how the tuna cakes turned out fresh from the oven. I alternated the positions to ensure even heating. It’s interesting to see that it made making tuna burgers even more easier, since it omitted the slicing of the cakes post-bake. It would of course be more economical to use the full recipe and make twelve cakes, since they could be frozen for future baon.

The heat predictably baked out all the moisture, and the cakes turned out to be a bit dry. A big dollop of ketchup or mayo would make things much better, or else bring some soup to go along with your baon. It’s incredibly easy to make, and fairly quick and effortless too. I expect a lot of variations can be made here, like the addition of herbs or even shredded vegetables.

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Week 30 of 52: Tuna Cakes

  1. Kate Abbott - Clifton Kitchen

    August 8, 2011 at 4:41 PM

    What a great idea.

     
    • baonkobento

      August 9, 2011 at 8:48 AM

      Thank you! It’s nice to discover great finds from the internet.

       

Leave a Reply

 
