RSS

Week 27 of 52: French Onion Soup

12 Jul

Oh yes, you read that right. I have finally achieved the craving I’ve been having for the longest time: French Onion Soup! I think I started craving for it around February or March, and I have been looking for restaurants that serve it but it has all been in vain. I didn’t really dare try it at home because of the length of time the onions will spend sweating and cooking, and that’d produce a lot of smoke. Finally today, I was able to try it at my mom’s place (which has better ventilation). The recipe comes from one of the funniest food bloggers I follow, SoupAddict.

I made a lot of changes to the recipe. I didn’t have any white wine, so I used sake instead. I also used cornstarch dissolved in a bit of water instead of flour; omitted the brandy; used mozzarella and toasted loaf bread sliced into squares; and used an oven toaster to melt the cheese, instead of a full oven. The glazing time of the onions was also reduced to about an hour because they were getting a bit burnt already.

To be brutally honest, I wasn’t expecting a lot from this experiment. Primarily because I felt I deviated too much from the original recipe, and that some of the onion bits were really dark and almost black. The taste of the sake was also a bit strong when it was on the simmering soup stage. I plunged on ahead and completed the recipe.

My mom and I bravely took our first spoonful. And we were floored! It was awesome! Creamy with cheese and the toasted bread soaked up the soup, it felt like we were eating a high class dish. I highly recommend trying this at least once in your life. Trust me, it’s worth all that trouble. Amazing.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Week 27 of 52: French Onion Soup

  1. Sheila

    July 13, 2011 at 1:02 AM

    So this is French onion soup! I only know the ‘French onion’-flavored potato chips. LOL! Astig, well done! 😉

     
  2. theoncominghope

    August 12, 2011 at 10:21 PM

    Yummy! I loooove French onion soup more than any other soup.

    I wrote my own easy-ish version as well. Bet you never thought a French Onion Soup recipe would have James Van Der Beek crying: http://bit.ly/qX1SlG

     

Leave a Reply

 
