RSS

Week 26 of 52: Chocolate crinkles

06 Jul

The Man expressed a desire for chocolate crinkles, and his wish is my command! I haven’t really tried making crinkles before, and I’ve always enjoyed eating them. I even have chocolate crinkles in my great cookie quest, and I’m going to use that recipe from Joy of Baking. I’ve tried three different types of cookies already, and I felt up to the challenge of a new recipe.

I mixed up the dough early in the morning, using Goya Dark Chocolate Buttons, then left it to chill in the fridge. After lunch, I took the dough out and started the process of shaping it into balls. Here is where I ran into a big problem: the dough was too hard. It might have been the temperature of the fridge, but it was hard to get some of the dough to form into balls. I first used a teaspoon, but it was deforming so I used an ice cream scoop instead.

This is how the cookies looked fresh out of the oven. If you will notice, some of them remained ball-shaped. I lengthened the baking time of the next two batches by around 2-3 minutes, but some of it still came out ball-shaped. Whatever the shape, though, it tasted just as good as I thought crinkles should taste.

Here are more or less all the cookies yielded, minus a couple for taste testing.

And here’s a close up. The taste is really amazing, and I doubt that these cookies will survive uneaten for more than a couple of days. I’m not sure if the effort of making it myself is worth it, I might just as well buy ready-made from the store. This one is richer in taste than commercial crinkles.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Week 26 of 52: Chocolate crinkles

  1. clair

    July 6, 2011 at 2:46 PM

    Did you see my link to the soft chocolate cookies? Try it. Baka malapit sa chocolate crinkles. They might not have the crinkled look but if you bake them right they will be soft. Overbaked sa akin so medyo crispy sa labas then really soft naman sa loob 🙂 Di siya fussy kasi cocoa lang 😀

     
    • baonkobento

      July 8, 2011 at 10:20 AM

      Uy nice! My problem really was having to scoop out frozen dough. >_<

      I'll check out your link, thanks!!

       
  2. sesu

    July 6, 2011 at 6:12 PM

    looks very delicious~ penge~ 😀

     
    • baonkobento

      July 8, 2011 at 10:22 AM

      Awwww too bad, it ran out pretty quickly. 😛 I’ll try out Clair’s cookie recipe and bring some.

       

Leave a Reply

 
