RSS

Week 24 of 52: Chocolate cut-out cookies

22 Jun

To be honest, I would have wanted to try more vegetable dishes but I finally ran out of veggies to use. It’ll have to wait until my next grocery run, when I can restock on those veggies.

My daughter has been requesting to make cookies with me for the longest time, and I figured that this is a good time as any. I’ve tried cut-out cookies before, but this time I wanted to try chocolate cookies. I decided to use this very simple recipe I found on Allrecipes.

I used the box of Hershey’s cocoa powder I bought earlier, and my daughter got to try out a set of cheap new cutters I had, along with the rest of the cutters we used before. I had to do a bit of distracting to get her to wait for the dough to finish resting in the fridge. I also encountered a bit of frustration trying to roll out the dough, as it kept sticking to the rolling pin. I eventually gave up and just slapped the dough flat with my hand.

Here she is, happily cutting out shapes.

I didn’t make any frosting, mostly because I’m lazy. Instead, I gambled on putting the decorations directly into the dough before baking them. I used some tiny M&M’s and some leftover heart sprinkles from Valentine’s. It didn’t turn out so bad. Some of the M&M’s cracked after baking, but the rest stayed intact and embedded in the cookie without the need for frosting.

She took a turn decorating too.

It turned out surprisingly good! I think it has to do with the quality of the cocoa powder. It was very chocolate-y, and not very sweet. Very reminiscent of brownies, come to think of it. My husband commented that it might be a bit overcooked because the surface is hard and crunchy, and he prefers the chewiness of the chocolate chunk cookies that I make. Next time, I’ll shorten the baking time to preserve some of the chewiness.

Finished cookies, cooling on the rack.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Week 24 of 52: Chocolate cut-out cookies

  1. ねこちゃん

    September 30, 2011 at 1:32 PM

    wuaaah your daughter is so cute! and she decorated the cookie so well!

     
    • baonkobento

      October 1, 2011 at 7:02 AM

      Thank you! =D She really enjoys baking cookies.

       

Leave a Reply

 
