RSS

Week 22 of 52: Vegetable Side Dishes

08 Jun

From a recent trip to the grocery, I have a big stash of vegetables that I needed to use up before they go bad. Some of them went into the baked spaghetti I made last week. Some of it will go to making another big batch of veggie soup concentrate, and most of the carrots and potatoes will become carrot kaldereta. That will leave me a bit more carrots, as well as a huge batch of tomatoes, and I need to get rid of them asap.

For the carrots, I turned to my trusty source Just Bento, and found this very easy no-cook recipe for Carrot-Sesame Salad. It was also a convenient outlet for the kinchay/parsley that I thought I needed for the baked spaghetti. I used a cheap plastic/metal grater to quickly grate the carrots into big but short strands.

For the tomatoes, Appetite for China posted a similarly easy no-cook recipe for Sweet and Sour Tomatoes. It called for shallots, but I had none so I skipped it entirely. It also required cider vinegar, but I thought that the rice vinegar I use for making sushi rice would make a good substitute.

I served both of these side dishes during lunch where we also had kamameshi rice and shake-n-bake chicken wings. It created a wonderful contrasting taste to both the rice and the chicken, as the tomatoes were sour and the carrots were very sesame-y. The sweet-and-sour sauce for the tomatoes were a bit too much for only 3 medium tomatoes; it might do better with four or five tomatoes the next time I make this. There was also some leftover carrot-sesame salad, which I doled out into two silicone cups and put into the freezer to be included in a couple of my future baon.

There weren’t enough of the tomatoes to have any leftovers, so I’m not really sure how they would fare as baon. I’m thinking that I’d probably separate the tomatoes and the sauce, and just toss them together when I’m about to eat the actual baon.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 8, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Week 22 of 52: Vegetable Side Dishes

  1. Roseanna Russe

    February 12, 2013 at 11:33 PM

    Side dishes such as salad, potatoes and bread are commonly used with main courses throughout many countries of the western world. New side orders introduced within the past decade, such as rice and couscous, have grown to be quite popular throughout Europe, especially at formal occasions (with couscous appearing more commonly at dinner parties introduced by many Middle Eastern attributes).*

    Most popular post provided by our new website
    <http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/wheatgrass-shots-for-detoxification/

     

Leave a Reply

 
