RSS

Week 21 of 52: Baked Spaghetti

03 Jun

Ever since I received the small glass casserole from my mother-in-law (which I used for the lemon cakes), I had been fantasizing about making baked pasta. I’m crazy about pasta, and I would gladly try anything to be able to cook my favorite kind of food.

One of the Filipino food bloggers I follow, Trissalicious, has an amazing recipe for baked spaghetti. I decided that this is what I was going to try. I had to make a few adjustments right from the start, since my casserole is really tiny. I figured halving the recipe might be a good start.

I ran into a bump right away. I had a bit of problem concerning the local term for coriander. I had thought that it was kinchay, but my father-in-law told me it looked like parsley. A search around the internet confirmed this, and also provided me the term wansuy to mean cilantro, which is another term for coriander. I had to go back to the supermarket to buy a bunch of wansuy instead.

The next bump I ran into was the fact that I seemed to have too much spaghetti, and too little meat sauce. And that my casserole was still too small for half the recipe. And maybe too little of the bechamel sauce. Still, I plowed on ahead, and came up with a casserole and a smallish bowl of baked spaghetti.

Unfortunately, I ran out of time and totally forgot to take pictures. I had sent the spaghetti to my in-laws, and it didn’t really last long enough for me to take pictures. It tasted great though, and the bechamel was awesome. I can imagine just making a batch of bechamel sauce, and pouring it over any baked dishes I make. I also appreciate the part where I learned about local terms of herbs.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Week 21 of 52: Baked Spaghetti

  1. Cristine

    June 3, 2011 at 10:11 AM

    they say if you get to perfect bechamel sauce (mother sauce) then you’re on your way to making all kinds of sauces. you can add it to a variety of dishes… I know a restaurant that uses bechamel sauce in majority of their dishes. pasta…pizza…viand…very rich and creamy kasi ang bechamel sauce, i’m starting to miss my nanay’s lasagna.

     
    • baonkobento

      June 3, 2011 at 10:38 AM

      I wasn’t aware of this bechamel sauce before I saw Trissa’s post. And boy, I feel like I missed half my life. I like milk, and this is the ultimate milk-based sauce!

      Ooooh lasagna. Something I haven’t tried myself (still a bit scared to try, hehe), but one of these days, I’ll get to it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
