RSS

Week 20 of 52: Lemon Cakes

26 May

I saw this around the time that Game of Thrones the TV series started. HBO posted this recipe on how to make the lemon cakes that was supposed to have been used in the filming of the series. I thought that it sounded interesting, even though I’m not really a big fan of lemon. A cooking blog I follow, Learn to Cook, also had a post about her attempt to make this recipe. Last but not least, my mom-in-law just passed down an old casserole that she wasn’t using anymore. All I needed to buy were some ramekins, and I should be set.

I was able to find some cheap ramekins (Php15 each) at Trinoma. I didn’t know how many would fit in the casserole, so I decided to just buy the whole set of 6. When I got home however, I found that only 3 can fit which meant that I had to halve the recipe.

I just followed the recipe instructions until I ended up with three ramekins-worth of batter. It was my first time to try the bain-marie method of cooking, so I was understandably nervous about the whole thing. Like Pikko of Learn to Cook, I had to extend the baking time by around 5 minutes to allow the cakes to firm up.

That’s how the casserole looked right out of the oven. At this point I was pretty much excited to see how it tastes that I tried all sorts of things to speed up the unmolding. I first held the ramekins in front of an electric fan, but it wasn’t cooling down fast enough for my taste. I ended up just taking a fork and sliding it around the side of the cakes. You could see in the picture below the very uneven edges, which was caused by the fork. You could also see some unevenness on the surface of the cake, which leads me to conclude that I didn’t butter the ramekins enough.

How did it taste? As I said earlier, I am not a huge fan of lemons, but the custard-y feel of the cake made up for it. I found it very delectable! I had The Man try it too, and unlike me, he likes lemons. Even so, he said that the lemon taste was a bit too strong. I should lessen the lemon juice a bit, and it’d be perfect. The three little cakes ended up eaten within 10 minutes of unmolding.

Unfortunately the casserole could only fit 3 ramekins. This would be a regular in my kitchen if only I could make more in one go. I might try looking for a larger casserole, or maybe a second one of the same size.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Week 20 of 52: Lemon Cakes

  1. Pikko

    May 26, 2011 at 7:02 AM

    Haha, like my hubby said, “punch you in the face” lemony! πŸ˜€

     
    • baonkobento

      May 26, 2011 at 3:40 PM

      Yeah! The nice thing here is we can always adjust the lemony feel of it. πŸ˜€

       
  2. Sheila

    May 28, 2011 at 3:12 PM

    I love lemon cakes! Will probably make this too when I finally get that oven.

     
  3. Marc

    April 4, 2017 at 5:19 PM

    Hi! Where in trinoma did you buy the ramekin cups? Thanks a lot πŸ™‚ hope you can help me out because I went to a lot of stores in SM and UP town already and they dont have it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
