RSS

Week 19 of 52: Egg Duo

15 May

I had a huge stock of eggs in the fridge, and I wanted to cut down on them a little to avoid them going bad. I decided to see what egg dishes are usually put in bento, and I found these two that sounded interesting:  Shoyu Tamago from Just Bento, and Usuyaki Tamago from Just Hungry.

Usuyaki tamago is somewhat similar to pancakes, although much thinner and a bit sweeter. It may also be used as a wrap around sushi rice, and this is the avenue that I wished to pursue. Unfortunately, I found out the hard way that a good nonstick pan is essential to making thin pancakes. Here you’ll see that the first pancake stuck to the pan and got all torn up. I switched to my relatively nonstickier tamagoyaki pan and was able to produce two relatively whole sheets of usuyaki tamago.

I was  a little bit more successful with the shoyu tamago. It sounds simple enough: hardboil some eggs, then roll them around in some soy sauce until the soy sauce mostly evaporates from the pan. Unfortunately, when I tried to follow the instructions for boiling the eggs, I ended up with softboiled eggs instead. I had to go back and reboil the eggs before going to the soy sauce stage.

Here’s how the shoyu tamago came out, pictured with the formed usuyaki tamago wrapped around sushi rice.

The moment I tasted the usuyaki tamago sushi I immediately resolved to buy a better quality nonstick pan, just to be able to taste this again. It. was. awesome! The shoyu tamago was equality delicious, and will definitely be repeated.

Here’s the resulting bento:

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Week 19 of 52: Egg Duo

  1. peonyli

    May 17, 2011 at 11:08 AM

    Wow! Just by the pictures, they already look very tasty! I’ll probably try to do the shoyu tamago one of these days. I seems to be the easier of the two, and I hope I get the same result as you. 🙂

     
    • baonkobento

      May 17, 2011 at 2:06 PM

      Yeah actually. The other one is a bit fiddly to make. Shoyu tamago is wonderful, and keeps very well in the fridge! You can make a large batch then keep them in the fridge until you need them. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
