RSS

Week 14 of 52: Shake-n-bake copycat mix

07 Apr

The Man and I are big fans of the traditional Shake ‘n Bake by Kraft Foods. It’s very easy to use: just put the mix in the plastic bag provided, put the meat in the bag, shake to coat, then bake! Unfortunately it’s a little hard to find. So far, I’ve only been able to buy from Landmark Supermarket in Trinoma, and sometimes they don’t have stock.

Take for instance this week, we were unable to find any Shake ‘n Bake anywhere. I really wanted to make some crunchy baked chicken so I resorted to the internet for help. Luckily TheKitchn featured a reader question precisely addressing this issue. I found the recipe by contributor Lindsaur (4th commenter), and thought it was perfect to try out since I had nearly all the ingredients listed. The only main difference here is I used 2 beaten eggs instead of yogurt since I didn’t have any at hand, and none of the stores in my vicinity sold any. I was also able to only coat five chicken pieces instead of the recommended six, because I had run out of the mix by that point.

Here’s how my chicken drumsticks turned out:

It turned out to be really crispy, with panko encrusting almost the entire chicken piece. It was also very flavorful, with a good chockful of those herbs with every bite. I would probably be repeating this recipe with a few tweaks. First, I would reduce the salt to only 1 tsp, as it turned out to be a little too salty. Maybe also reduce the black pepper to 1 tsp as well, since I don’t want my chicken to be too spicy. I would also either extend the baking time to the entire 45 minutes (I baked for only the minimum of 35 minutes), to make sure that the insides are well cooked.

This is awesome as baon. I tried bringing one of the leftover drumsticks to work, and with a minute of reheating in the microwave it turned out to be just as awesome as newly baked! I’ll also be trying this out with fillets (easier to eat in baon) and see how it turns out.

Oh, and the most important question: Did it taste anything like Shake ‘n Bake? No, it didn’t. But it was yummy in its own right, and as mentioned above, will definitely be repeated whenever we don’t have a stock of Shake ‘n Bake.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Week 14 of 52: Shake-n-bake copycat mix

  1. peonyli

    April 10, 2011 at 3:41 PM

    cooking really crispy chicken has been a frustration of mine. i’ve never tried baking though, i usually coat chicken fillet in breading and deep fry it. however the recipe is very oily and the chicken loses it’s crunchiness if not eaten immediately. i will definitely try the recipe one the these days. thanks for posting TL! 🙂

     
    • baonkobento

      April 14, 2011 at 9:08 AM

      Yeah me too, I really like crunchy chicken, but not the oil it has to come with when deep frying. Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
