RSS

Week 13 of 52: Stuffed bread

03 Apr

My friend Paul posted a picture on Facebook of the stuffed bread that he baked. It looked so scrumptious! I immediately messaged him and asked for the recipe. That was about a month or two ago. Finally I was able to give it a try, and it was a success! I asked for permission to share the recipe on this blog, and he graciously granted it. He didn’t mention what his source was, though; if this is your recipe or if you know the source, please drop me a line in the comments and I’ll update the article. I changed the measurements to cups/tbs.

Paul’s Stuffed Bread

makes 1 small loaf

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbs unsalted butter, chilled and cut into small cubes
  • 2 tsp active bread yeast
  • 1 pinch sugar
  • 1 cup boiling water combined with 1 cup chilled water
  • your chosen bread stuffing*

1. Mix the flour, salt, yeast, and sugar in a big bowl. Drop the cubes of butter into the dry ingredients, and mix with a fork (or use your fingers) until the butter is well incorporated.

2. Add just enough of the prepared water (should still be warm to the touch) to form the flour mixture into dough.

3. Knead the dough, 5 minutes by mixer or 10 minutes by hand.

4. Form the dough into a ball and place back into the bowl. Cover with cling wrap, then with a damp cloth. Let the dough rise for 45 minutes up to an hour.

5. Deflate the dough by punching down on it, until all the gas is removed.

6. Roll out the dough, to around half an inch thick. Place your desired stuffing in the middle. Fold the sides of the dough over the stuffing until completely covered, then invert so the folds are underneath.

7. Place the dough on a floured parchment paper or cookie sheet. Dust the top of the dough with some flour. Let it rise again for around 30-45 minutes.

8. Preheat the oven to 450F.

9. Spray the dough with water, and bake for 25-30 minutes. Around 5 minutes before the bread finishes baking, spray it again with water.

Recipe Notes:

* Stuffing: You can use anything that normally goes into baked bread: raisins, cheese, dried fruit, sausages/hotdogs. Paul used mozzarella, cherry tomatoes, and fresh basil. I used mozzarella and chicken hotdogs in mine.

– I didn’t have a stand mixer, so I used the 10 minute kneading by hand option. It wasn’t as bad as I expected, but my arm did become sore afterward. I also didn’t knead on a flat surface. Instead I just kneaded the dough straight in its bowl.

– I didn’t have an atomizer either (for step 9), so I just used my fingers to flick water onto the waiting dough.

Here’s my first attempt of stuffed bread:

Here’s how it looked like when sliced:

How did it taste like? Totally amazing! I couldn’t believe I was able to make bread-tasting bread, and a good texture at that too! And without any fancy equipment too! I’m very much pleased with this result, and so was The Man. He immediately requested that I bake a batch for his folks as well. And since it wasn’t really hard to do this, only time-consuming, I made an all-cheese bread for the in-laws. Here’s the outside:

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Week 13 of 52: Stuffed bread

  1. Clair

    April 3, 2011 at 6:51 PM

    Hmm. The bread recipe is similar to the empanada recipe, in terms of ingredients I now wanna try this bread too because I want to compare the process of making this and the empanada/pasties at home. As for atomizers, time to buy from Saizen hahaha XDDDD

    Thanks for sharing this! πŸ˜€

     
    • baonkobento

      April 4, 2011 at 10:05 AM

      Cool! Glad it helps!

      Yeah I should be getting a dedicated atomizer for cooking, since I think I will be doing this recipe a lot! πŸ˜€

       
  2. Sacha Chua

    April 5, 2011 at 2:03 AM

    When you knead bread, use your legs and your back for additional power and ease. Move your whole body, not just your hands, and kneading becomes much smoother.

    It’s a little like martial arts. πŸ˜‰ The power of a punch doesn’t come from your arms, it comes from your legs, through your hips, and up your torso.

     
    • Sacha Chua

      April 5, 2011 at 2:04 AM

      This is much easier on a flat surface, of course. Also make sure that the surface isn’t too high for you. I sometimes move my chopping board and bread to the kitchen table, which is lower than the counter.

       
    • baonkobento

      April 5, 2011 at 1:06 PM

      Thanks for the tip! I’m not really aware of how I angle the rest of my body, but since my arm did get sore afterward, probably I was doing it wrong. I’ll try it on a flat surface next time.

       

Leave a Reply

 
