RSS

Week 12 of 52: Chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting

29 Mar

It was quite a busy week last week for my family, but thankfully I was able to find the time to sneak in this week’s challenge. I actually had the ingredients ready, I was just waiting for the right time to try it out.

I got the recipe from Home Cooking Rocks. Originally, I saved this recipe for the chocolate cream cheese frosting only, but I figured I might as well try out the cupcakes as well. Here, I used Hershey’s cocoa powder for both the cupcake batter and the frosting. It was interesting to see the baking soda fizzle when the vinegar was added.

Here’s a picture of the cupcakes fresh out of the oven:

Interestingly enough, the cupcakes kind of sunk after it cooled down. I’m not sure what caused that; perhaps the baking soda? I whipped up the frosting, put it in a temporary piping bag, and frosted swirls on half the cupcakes.

Then I got tired of putting it in the piping bag (it was very fiddly!), so I ended up just spooning the frosting on top of the cupcakes.

It’s very chocolate-y! I like how the taste of the cream cheese just come up and surprise you. It was just a little surprising that there was actually very few cupcakes produced. Maybe I’ll try smaller cupcakes next time.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Week 12 of 52: Chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting

  1. Cristine

    March 30, 2011 at 8:15 AM

    looks very chocolate-y indeed and I bet it tastes delicious. You could top it with some candy sprinkles just to add color or… choco chips (that’ll be lots of chocolate already hihihihi) =)

     
    • baonkobento

      March 30, 2011 at 9:57 AM

      Great idea! I would’ve thought of this had I any left. I used up all my sprinkles in the sugar cookies I made before. =D

       
  2. Jewel

    April 4, 2011 at 7:20 PM

    Maybe we should exchange recipes and cupcakes next time. πŸ˜€ Are yours also egg-less? Mine is and I just put royal icing instead of cream cheese… and a lot of sprinkles if its for kids. πŸ˜€

     
    • baonkobento

      April 4, 2011 at 11:08 PM

      Ooooh I’ve never tried eggless batter for anything yet. Sounds intriguing (and a lot healthier!).

      I tried royal icing before and it was a little too sweet for my tastes. πŸ˜›

      I’d love to do a recipe&cupcake exchange! πŸ˜€

       

Leave a Reply

 
