RSS

Week 11 of 52: Stewed chicken and carrots

18 Mar

Another dish from the Just Bento Cookbook: stewed chicken and carrots. It actually has a copy online here, so you can go check out the original recipe. I made some adjustments because of some things which aren’t available.

Basic tsukune, modified

  • 600 grams ground chicken
  • 1 finely grated medium carrrot
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg minus a bit of egg white
  • 3-4 tbs cornstarch

I just dumped everything into a bowl and mixed them all up until they resemble a very smooth but slightly wet paste. I didn’t have any ginger on hand (the original recipe calls for about half a tablespoon of it) so I simply omitted it.  I don’t know what was wrong with my ground chicken, but it does look like it’s too wet to hold solid when dropped into the broth. Anyway, once I had the chicken mixture ready, I mixed up the broth.

Broth

  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 2 tbs sake
  • 2 tbs mirin
  • 2 1/2 tbs dark soy sauce
  • 2 medium carrots, sliced into small pieces

I just put the broth ingredients into a large sauce pan, brought it to a boil, and dropped teaspoonfuls of the chicken mixture into the hot broth. I was expecting it to all fall apart once it hit the liquid, but to my surprise it stuck together. I left it to boil for around 15 minutes, and turned off the heat.

Frankly, I was expecting the worst mostly because I messed around with the measurement of the ingredients, and it’s the first time I’m making this dish! I was aghast at myself. I plowed forward nevertheless, and adjusted the broth ingredients as well to compensate for the increased amount of chicken mixture. Anyway this is how it looked like when done.

Surprisingly, it tasted wonderful! Looks aside, I think it tasted exactly how it should taste. It was nice when I had it for lunch today, and it goes remarkably well with some of the kamameshi rice. It freezes well too, along with a bit of the broth. Since it was quite easy and quick to make, it will be one of my freezer stash mainstays.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Week 11 of 52: Stewed chicken and carrots

Leave a Reply

 
