RSS

Week 10 of 52: Edamame and Cheese Savory Muffins

11 Mar

This week I tried out another of the recipes from The Just Bento Cookbook: Edamame and Cheese Savory Muffins! I finally found frozen edamame in a Japanese grocery aptly called Konbini, located along Annapolis Ave. in Greenhills. I thought that this is the perfect dish to try with edamame, and I had lots of edam cheese already grated in the fridge.

It basically just involves making regular muffins (although with much less sugar), mixing half the cheese in the batter, putting them in a muffin pan, sprinkling some edamame on the batter, sprinkling the rest of the cheese over the holes, and baking them in a 350F oven.

Here’s what came out:

Pretty awesome and toothsome looking muffins! How did it taste though? I think edam might have been the wrong cheese to use, because it ended up pretty salty. I know they should be savory, but edam is actually a pretty salty cheese.  I think that next time, I’ll use processed cheese, or even babybel. Or, should I continue to use edam, I’ll put more sugar into the batter.

Here’s another view of the muffins, unpanned.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
