RSS

Week 5 of 52: Teriyaki Chicken and Pickles

03 Feb

Double trouble! I made not one, but two, new dishes this week!

I was craving for some good old chicken, and I came across this unique recipe for Teriyaki Chicken from Simply Recipes that did not involve frying! How awesome is that? I think I’ve mentioned once or twice about the prohibition of frying in my house, until such time I get a better ventilation.

This recipe called for 4 chicken breasts, but I don’t really like the feel of all that white meat. Instead, I used 4 large boneless thighs and 2 small ones. I think I could have fit in maybe 6-7 large thighs in all the teriyaki sauce I was able to produce. Actually I was a little worried about the sauce, since it took longer than 5 minutes to reduce to a syrup. Also, I think that 2 tbs sesame seeds is too much; it would have been fine with just 1 tbs or even 1/2 tbs. Here’s how 3 large thighs looked like, plated:

Doesn’t it look just…..yummy? It’s amazing! It’s actually one of the best teriyaki chicken I’ve tasted, so this recipe is one HUGE find, I tell ya! Take a closer look:

It performed wonderfully in bento form too. The remaining thighs went into bentos for me and my husband, and we both reported that they came out pretty well after reheated in a microwave. This will be a mainstay in my bentos, for sure!

~~~~

The itch to cook was in me, and I didn’t hesitate to follow. I found this extremely interesting article on making homemade pickles at Serious Eats. Now, I absolutely adore pickles, and this is certainly an irresistible temptation. Bottled pickles here aren’t all that cheap, especially if you want to tuck in a slice or five in every bento.

The recipe actually calls for 2 pounds of cucumbers, but I don’t think I can manage to eat all of those in a week (which is the safe shelf life of these homemade pickles), so I halved it and made 1 pound of pickles. I used four garlic cloves, 3 siling labuyo, one bay leaf, and one cinnamon bark as flavoring. I think those are too many flavors in one pickling (although it still tasted great!); I’ll reduce them to maybe two flavorings next time.

I was able to fill two small glass containers, and half of a big one (I ran out of small jars). They look awesome, and taste wonderful! I’m not sure about the smell though, it smells kind of funny. Here they are, jarred:

I had both the teriyaki chicken and some of the pickles today for my baon. They go well together! Too bad I forgot to take a picture of the actual bento. Instead, here’s a picture of five pickles (my usual, for a snack) plated.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Week 5 of 52: Teriyaki Chicken and Pickles

  1. peonyli

    February 12, 2011 at 12:01 AM

    Hi TL! I enjoy your posts! I would like to suggest you making a resto review of Army Navy in SM North Skygarden. They have real tasty burgers, and I heard they have great burritos as well. 🙂

     
    • baonkobento

      February 12, 2011 at 9:34 AM

      Hi Li! Thanks for visiting!

      I’ve tried Army Navy in Glorietta 5 once, and yes they have really good burgers and fries. I haven’t been to SM North in a long time, but I think this is a great suggestion. I’ll make it a point to review it sometime.

       

Leave a Reply

 
