RSS

Week 3 of 52: Banana Cake

20 Jan

My fondest memories of banana cake is the one made by my maternal grandmother. I remember helping her mash the bananas with a fork when she’s preparing banana cake, with me standing on a chair to reach the counter. I would dare say that it IS still the best banana cake I’ve tasted. Unfortunately, my grandma no longer remembers the recipe, and she has lost her notebook of recipes. I’ll have to muddle about on my own to try recreating that elusive perfect banana cake.

On my search of banana cake recipes, I found this one by Marketman. Actually, that link provides two recipes, and I followed the first one. The other one had nuts, and I wasn’t in the mood for nuts at this point. I was more or less faithful to Marketman’s recipe, but for three changes: 1) I used two bananas, instead of just 1.5; 2) I used wax paper to line my bread pan, instead of buttering it; and 3) My oven’s peculiar setting let me use 338F, instead of 325F. This is how it looked like, fresh out of the oven:

I “inherited” this bread pan from my mom, along with the rest of her baking gear of old. Her oven no longer works, so she will not be using them anymore. I got more molds and pans, and most importantly, I also received her electric hand mixer which I’ve been using through all my baking adventures.

Going back to the banana cake, this is how it looked like unmolded:

Beautiful looking loaf! I like the fact that it fits so well in this serving dish, haha! I promptly cut a slice, so I can check how it looks like inside.

Very nice! It looked more or less like the banana cake of my childhood. Now the question is, how did it taste? It was… good, actually. The bananas can be clearly perceived, and the bread itself wasn’t heavy. However, it wasn’t quite how my grandma’s banana cake tastes like. It needs to be a little bit sweeter, and to have more bananas per bite. The next time I’ll bake a loaf, I’ll use 3 bananas and maybe a full cup of sugar. Actually, probably I’ll use a mix of white and brown sugar, because this one seems a bit lighter in color than my grandma’s.

Grandma’s Legendary Banana Cake…… I’m almost there.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Week 3 of 52: Banana Cake

  1. eclair

    January 20, 2011 at 2:26 PM

    Oooh! Makes me wanna try it out too πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing this banana cake experience. πŸ˜„ May bread pan din sa bahay. And bananas are common here in our country so it makes sense to have banana bread.

    Our oven is quirky too. Sometimes I really have to set the temp higher than usual.

     
    • baonkobento

      January 20, 2011 at 3:20 PM

      Thanks! πŸ˜€

      I really like banana bread. You should try this sometime!
      Actually it isn’t a quirk of the oven. It’s really one of the settings. >_<

       
      • eclair

        January 20, 2011 at 8:16 PM

        I find our oven quirky. The temperature near the door is warmer. Kaya di pantay yung baking ~_~ And that is part of the reason why I set the temp higher.

         
  2. eclair

    January 20, 2011 at 2:27 PM

    PS: I logged in my WordPress account so it’ts easier to comment ^^;

     
  3. Zane

    January 20, 2011 at 3:23 PM

    Mmmm…. Looks perfect with coffee!

     
  4. Cristine

    January 21, 2011 at 7:15 AM

    Hmmm…. back then when my elder son Ian was more than a year old, I used to bake banana cakes with the help of my hubby and we sell loaves of them at the office. Seeing your deliciously looking banana cakes makes me miss those days. =)

     
    • baonkobento

      January 21, 2011 at 10:24 AM

      That’s pretty cool! For me, baking (and cooking!) as a means to augment income is pretty awesome. I remember we used to whip up gigantic batches of ginataan to sell in the neighborhood when I was a kid.

       
  5. Clair

    March 4, 2011 at 11:34 PM

    Made one earlier lol. We don’t have anything more narrow so my bread looks so flat XDDD It tastes pretty good. But it’s lighter than most banana breads I’ve tried. I also used 2 bananas. I wonder if 3 would make it taste more banana-like? I am guessing that using 3 will add more flavor but not make it nakakaumay.

     

Leave a Reply

 
