RSS

Week 1 of 52: Roast Chicken

05 Jan

This is Week 1 of my 52-Week Challenge for 2011, where I try a brand new recipe every week.

I’ve fallen in love with my oven. With all the baking I’ve been doing recently, I decided to try making viands with it instead. This recipe for Honey Soy Chicken Wings from Appetite for China seemed like a safe place to start. I didn’t have chicken wings though, only three boneless chicken thighs. I thought, hey why not try it anyway?

The method turned out to be pretty simple. Just marinade the chicken in the mix, covered, and leave in the fridge for just 10 minutes.  Roast in the 375F preheated oven for around 25 minutes, and you’re done! This method is perfect for bento creators, since you only need a lead time of around 40 minutes to prepare. And you can do the rest of the bento within the 25-minute baking time. Of course, you can do the roasting way ahead of time. The chicken keeps well in the fridge for probably up to a week.

Here’s the short list of marinade ingredients I used:

Marinade for roast chicken

  • 1 tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tbs hoisin sauce
  • 1 tbs honey
  • 1/2 tbs rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • pinch salt

This marinade is supposed to be enough for 1 pound of chicken wings, so it was more than enough for the three large boneless thighs that I had. I cut the thighs in half each so it’d have more surface area exposed to the marinade (similar to wings). After roasting, this is what it looked like:

Gorgeous! The skin is nicely browned, although the pieces shrunk a little from the roasting. I cut these into small strips for easy eating, and packed two half-thighs into that nice little Hakoya box I got from my MIL. I added some smoked cheese halfmoons as a side.

How did it taste? Perfect! Just perfect. I can taste all parts of the marinade in there, and therefore it needed no additional sauce. It works beautifully in a bento too, no issues with being room temperature. Next time, I’ll try it with actual chicken wings (although it’ll be hard to eat in a bento), and maybe put in that optional cayenne pepper for a little kick. And I’ll remember to put sesame seeds as garnish too!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2011 in 52-Week Challenge 2011

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Week 1 of 52: Roast Chicken

  1. Celedor

    January 6, 2011 at 3:14 PM

    You should watch Julie and Julia.. The movie is about someone who undertakes basically the same challenge that you’re doing.

     
    • baonkobento

      January 7, 2011 at 10:08 AM

      Yeah I’ve heard of that! I’m very curious about it. I even saw some Julia Child cookbooks in some bookstores. 😄 Will try to look for a copy of that movie.

       
  2. Dani

    January 8, 2011 at 7:53 AM

    Looks really yummy!

    Good luck with the challenge. I, for one, am looking forward to your recipes. 😀

     
    • baonkobento

      January 8, 2011 at 10:51 AM

      Thanks! I’m really looking forward to the things I’ll be discovering along the way. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
