RSS

Blueberry pie

27 Dec

I’ve been doing a lot of baking recently, and aside from cookies I’ve also been trying out some pies. The first one I tried was Apple Mini Pies. It turned out looking rather good, although the crust was quite thick. I need to practice rolling out dough thinner.

I decided to try a full-sized pie. While doing groceries earlier I saw some cans of blueberries specifically made for pies. I got a couple of cans and thought I would try making blueberry pie. I borrowed a pie crust recipe from my sister-in-law. Once I perfect this recipe I’ll share it with you.

It turned out quite well! The crust was thin and flaky, and did not interfere with the taste of blueberry. It was plain and simple blueberry pie, and I think it can still be improved.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Blueberry pie

  1. Clair

    December 27, 2010 at 9:13 PM

    Oh wow! More baking. Ang swerte ng pamilya mo 😄 They get more baked goodies! 😀

    Btw, in terms of cost, kumusta ang pie baking? Sulit ba?

     
    • baonkobento

      December 28, 2010 at 11:47 AM

      Actually for this particular pie, mura lang. Around 160php for the can of blueberries, plus around 100php for the butter crust. So mga 260php for the cost of materials lang. :3

       
  2. rubbercupcake

    January 8, 2011 at 11:41 PM

    Try looking up recipes for puff pastry shells. The crust is the most important part of the pie 😉 anyone can do filling =) My grandma and i make pies alot and she always tells me this. Many of my friends in the culinary industry do as well, so if youre serious about making pies its a good step to make.

    The most important thing is to balance the amount of salt you put in the crust, thats how most of the flavor will come out =)

     
  3. rubbercupcake

    January 8, 2011 at 11:52 PM

    here is a recipie you can try =)

    http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Puff-Pastry

     
    • baonkobento

      January 9, 2011 at 12:31 PM

      Cool! Thanks so much for the link and the tip! I do want to improve my pie-making.

       
  4. rubbercupcake

    January 10, 2011 at 1:29 PM

    No worries ü and the cool thing about it is you don’t have to limit yourself to just dessert. You can put ground beef with some veg (onion garlic and bellpeppers do well) and an egg to make a meat pie filling. So it can be like a single serving baon too, or even an ulam if you don’t mind the crust. Kinda like a sandwich really.

    I saw an interesting stir fry recipe from yummy magazine this week, i want to try and make it into a meat pie. Il let you know how it turns out if ever ü

     

Leave a Reply

 
