RSS

Five reasons why I bento-style my baon

03 Aug

My objective for sharing this list is two-fold. One is the hope that someone might be inspired enough to start making their own visually appealing baon as well. The other is to be able to concretize (even only to myself) why I am doing what others might deem to be a very labor-intensive and needless activity.

1. Portion control – Packing a complete lunch in a small space may be a bit challenging, but it has the automatic feature of limiting the amount of food you can put in. Instant diet helper! I just make sure to choose the correct size for my bento box. Here’s a good guide if you’re interested.

2. Creative outlet – I am not a very creative person; I don’t draw, sing/dance, or play any instrument. But in making baon bento-style, I can unleash my (hopefully formidable) creativity to come up with visually tasteful meals.

3. A way to deal with my kid’s picky appetite – My daughter is a very picky eater, and is very difficult to convince to eat anything. However, I have discovered that she will eat food that she thinks is cute (hearts, pink, octopii, etc.). Bento making is the perfect avenue for her to eat well and healthy.

4. Lunch time is fun time – Because I know that my food looks good, I look forward to lunch time when I can finally open my baon.

5. Save money – This is actually related to #1. Not only am I able to control the portions that I eat, there is also the added benefit of being able to save money. By carefully planning my meals for the next week or two, I am also able to spend efficiently and save money in the long run.

This has been my lunch one Saturday. I couldn’t wait for lunch time to open it. How was I able to resist? I ate a pretty good breakfast of cereal and bananas.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Five reasons why I bento-style my baon

  1. Sheila

    September 13, 2010 at 3:51 PM

    I seriously think this is a great idea! Thanks for sharing the link to choosing the right size bento box. Interesting. I’m really considering “bento-styling” my baons as well especially if I want to reach a particular savings goal by next year. ;)

     
    • baonkobento

      September 18, 2010 at 12:52 PM

      Shing!! Thanks for visiting my blog! Yes, the savings really do add up. Once you’ve built up your food stash you can actually go down to around only Php300-400 for a week’s (!) worth of baon. I hope you can write about your food adventures as well!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 642 other followers

